U.S. flag   An unofficial archive of your favorite United States government website
Dot gov

Official websites do not use .rip
We are an unofficial archive, replace .rip by .gov in the URL to access the official website. Access our document index here.


We are building a provable archive!
A lock (Dot gov) or https:// don't prove our archive is authentic, only that you securely accessed it. Note that we are working to fix that :)

A  |  B  |  C  |  D  |  E  |  F  |  G  |  H  |  I  |  J  |  K  |  L  |  M  |  N  |  O  |  P  |  Q  |  R  |  S  |  T  |  U  |  V  |  W  |  X  |  Y  |  Z

National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP)


  A U.S. Government initiative established to promote the use of evaluated information systems products and champion the development and use of national and international standards for information technology security. NIAP was originally established as collaboration between the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and the National Security Agency (NSA) in fulfilling their respective responsibilities under P.L. 100-235 (Computer Security Act of 1987). NIST officially withdrew from the partnership in 2007 but NSA continues to manage and operate the program. The key operational component of NIAP is the Common Criteria Evaluation and Validation Scheme (CCEVS) which is the only U.S. Government- sponsored and endorsed program for conducting internationally-recognized security evaluations of commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) information assurance (IA) and IA-enabled information technology products. NIAP employs the CCEVS to provide government oversight or “validation” to U.S. Common Criteria (CC) evaluations to ensure correct conformance to the International Common Criteria for IT Security Evaluation (ISO/IEC 15408).
CNSSI 4009-2015