1998 NISSC

Assurance, Criteria and Testing Track

Panel Session: Common Criteria Version 2.0—Launching the International Standard

Panel Chairs:

Gene Troy, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, USA. Murray Donaldson, Communications-Electronics Security Group, Cheltenham, GL, UK.

The release of Version 2.0 of the Common Criteria (CC) for Information Technology Security Evaluation has generated significant excitement within the international community. This panel session provides the Sponsors from the sponsoring organizations in the six nations participating in the CC development project an opportunity to share their perspectives on the future use of the criteria, its associated evaluation methodology and the potential impact on mutual recognition. In addition, members of the CC development project team will address key aspects of the new release and provide important information on international standards-related activities.

The session will begin with a focus of reporting the progress and accomplishments of the CC Project to-date in developing the criteria, methodology and in the area of mutual recognition.

Each Sponsor will then provide an individual statement on mutual recognition and their organisation's transition plans from the national criteria and methodology currently in use to the Common Criteria and Methodology.

The session will then focus on the presentation of key aspects of the new CC Version 2.0 by members of the CC development team. In addition, members of the CC development team will outline the future activities in the CC Project with regard to maintenance of the CC and continued work with the International Standards Organisation.

Finally, questions will be taken from the floor.

Panel Speakers:

The following senior officials will be speaking on behalf of their respective organizations. Andrew W. Saunders, Communications-Electronics Security Group, Cheltenham, GL, United Kingdom Dirk Henze, German Information Security Agency, Bonn, Germany Shukri Wakid, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, United States Nick Plasier, Netherlands National Communications Security Agency, The Hague, Netherlands Michael Jacobs, National Security Agency, Fort George G. Meade, MD, United States Jean-Louis Desvignes, Central Information Systems Security Service, Paris, France Gary O'Bright, Communications Security Establishment, Ottawa, Canada